Grand Rapids Public Schools Will Receive SLD Center’s 2013 KTLA Award

Specialized Language Development (SLD) Center Announces
The 2013 Recipient of the Kathryn Timmer Literacy Award is Grand Rapids Public Schools
Award will be accepted by Superintendent Teresa Weatherall Neal
Thursday, March 21, 2013 at the Goei Center
6:00 pm-8:30 pm Strolling Dinner and Silent Auction
8:30 pm – 9:15 pm Award Presentation and Live Auction
Event will be hosted by Maranda, Wood TV8 to benefit Specialized Language Development Center
Recognizing Grand Rapids Public Schools
The longstanding relationship between GRPS and the SLD Center has been instrumental in the advancement of The Center, diversified community outreach and specifically the success of the Language Links program, a community supported one-on-one tutoring based reading intervention for 1st and 2nd grade students.
Since 1992, SLD Center and GRPS have partnered through Language Links programs, starting in Campau Park Elementary, Shawnee Park and Henry Elementary and continuing at Campau Park Elementary, Campus Elementary and Harrison Park Elementary. During these years of partnership, GRPS has faced the challenges of most urban districts which have included changes in leaderships, enrollment, funding and programming. During these same years, GRPS has developed into a district that has been tenacious in creating improvements dedicated to the future of the entire Grand Rapids Community.
The GRPS District Philosophy is printed throughout their literature:
Every child is unique. There is no “one-size-fits-all” education to ensure every child – regardless of age, income, ability or nationality – achieves their academic potential. GRPS is proud to offer the region’s largest and most comprehensive selection of educational choices — so parents and students can choose the best school and education program for academic growth and success.
One year ago, in January 2012, Teresa Weatherall Neal was appointed to lead GRPS and that philosophy leapt off the pages of their literature and was put into clear action. The GR Economic Club explained is as follows:
Little did the Board of Education, the district and this region know how one leader could unite and align internal and external stakeholders around a bold, visionary Transformation Plan for GRPS through listening, learning and leading for change (Jan. 2013).
For almost 40 years, Specialized Language Development (SLD) Center has been a community resource dedicated to unique learners and the governing principle that education must recognize learning differences of all kinds and transform accordingly. Parents and students deserve options and opportunities for all children to succeed.
The Kathryn Timmer Literacy Award was created to honor those in our community who work to provide hope, strength, confidence and tools to help those with unique learning styles achieve their full potential. SLD Center is proud to recognize the growth and momentum currently occurring in the Grand Rapids Public School through the leadership of Superintendent Neal, her staff, the Board of Education, teachers and other district employees and their dedication to create a better future for all in the West Michigan Community.
About the Award

KTLA 2013

The Kathryn Timmer Literacy Award was created in 2006 to honor those in our community who work to provide hope, strength, confidence and tools to help children and adults with dyslexia, learning challenges or other unique learning styles achieve their full potential.
Grand Rapids Public Schools will join the prestigious group of past recipients including:
  • Jon & Mary Ann March
  • The Keller Family Foundation
  • The Steelcase Foundation
  • James & Grace Gunn
  • Zondervan Publishing
  • Amway
  • Meijer
  • Spartan Stores
2013 Kathryn Timmer Literacy Award Reception Honorary Committee
  • Brian and Lynne Allen
  • Commissioner Rosalyn Bliss
  • Tony and Molly Campbell
  • Rick and Valerie DeKam
  • Bing and Jean Goei
  • Jim and Grace Gunn
  • Mayor George and Susan Heartwell
  • Lynn Heemstra
  • Dan and Diane Hickey
  • J. Paul and Melissa Janes
  • Bob and Rosalie Kaser
  • Dan and Laura LaMore
  • John and Sandy Lowery
  • Mike and Kiki Lown
  • Wesley and Lorissa MacAllister
  • Jon and Mary Ann March
  • Greg Meyer
  • Mike and Karen Morris
  • Dr. Janos Nevai and Nanette Clatterbuck
  • Stephanie Newton
  • Dr. Philip and Sara Nowicki
  • Corky and Carol Overmyer
  • Dr. Steven and Jenifer Pastyrnak
  • Stuart and Anne Ray
  • Dr. Michael Ryan
  • John and Prim Sebastian
  • Sharon Smith
  • Will Smith and Dr. Mursulata Muhhamad
  • Matt Szukalowski
  • John J. Timmer
  • Marcia VanderWoude
  • Brian and Erica VanEe
  • Ted Vecchio and Gabriella Minnhaar-Tomatis
  • John and Mari-jo Walsh
  • Roy and Cynthia Welton
  • Jim and Sue Williams

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: